Sooner Athletic Conference
2017 Women's Soccer
SNU's Jackie Acevedo
SNU's Jackie Acevedo
Women's Soccer - Fri, Nov. 12, 2010
(Full List)
Southern Nazarene senior Jackie Acevedo has been named Sooner Athletic Conference Women's Soccer Player of the Year, the conference announced Friday

Acevedo, a junior from Austin, Texas, scored a conference-best 22 goals this season. Acevedo also captured SAC Offensive Player of the Year honors. She caps a list of honorees otherwise dominated by conference regular season and tournament champion Oklahoma City.

OCU Coach Brian Harvey is the SAC Co-Coach of the Year, splitting the honor with Mid-America Christian's Zach Bice, who guided the Lady Evangels to a school-record 16-3-1 record.

OCU also had the Defensive Player of the Year in Brenna Skillern, Goalkeeper of the Year Brittany Tibbs and Newcomer of the Year Blerta Rashica.

Skillern, a sophomore from Yukon, Okla., and Tibbs, a senior from Kansas City, Mo., anchored a defense that allowed just 15 goals in 20 matches for the season thus far. Raschica, a freshman from Orbero, Sweden, recorded 12 goals in her first year.

Acevedo, Tibbs, Skillern and Rashica are joined on the First-Team by Melissa Dobie and Julia Nimal of MACU, Emily Anderson, Camille Malkiewicz, Jodi Knack and Sarah Kidd of John Brown, Josefine Holmgren and Malin Anderson of Oklahoma City, and Annie Zoch and Taylor Fain of USAO.

The Second Team includes Faith Thurman, Ashley Cecil and Alex McMichael of JBU, Chelsea McMullin, Abby Rickner and Shereen Clarke of Rogers State, Lindsey Nehr, Rachel Scott, Nicole Farquhar and Kassie Byrd of MACU, Taylor Marsh of Northwestern, Rachel Eguren of Southern Nazarene, Megan McMahon of Oklahoma City and Kirsten Betterton of Oklahoma Baptist.