Sooner Athletic Conference
2017-18 Men's Basketball
SAC Player of the Year Kevin Swinton
SAC Player of the Year Kevin Swinton
Men's Basketball - Mon, Feb. 28, 2011

Oklahoma Baptist senior Kevin Swinton has been named Sooner Athletic Conference Player of the Year, headlining a strong list of honorees on the All-Conference team announced Monday. (Full List)

Joining Swinton on the list of SAC superlatives are Coach of the Year Clark Sheehy of John Brown, Newcomer of the Year Orren Tims of Northwestern Oklahoma State, Freshman of the Year Dylan Lemley of St. Gregory's, Defensive Player of the Year Will Reinke of Oklahoma Christian and Sportsmanship Award winner Andrius Mikutis.

Swinton, a 6-8 senior from Greensboro, N.C., averaged 19 points and 7.7 rebounds for SAC regular season champion Oklahoma Baptist.

Sheehy guided his Golden Eagles to a fourth-place finish in the SAC with a young team.

Tims, a senior from Ruston, La., averaged 18.4 points per game. Lemley, who hails from Roff, Okla., averaged 13.5 points per game. Reinke led the SAC with 2.7 blocked shots per game.
Joining Swinton and Tims on the First Team are Kenny Hewitt of Lubbock Christian, John Boyd of Rogers State and Xavier Alexander of Southern Nazarene.

The Second Team includes Reinke, Sam Bartlett of John Brown, Maurice Foster of Oklahoma Baptist, Brandon Williams of Mid-America Christian, Fayzon Richey of SGU and Tim Bowman of OBU.

Making the Third Team are A.J. Thomas of Southern Nazarene, Brandon Moton and Nate Flowers of Oklahoma City, Deveric Taylor of Rogers State, Adrian Miller of JBU and Thomas Peters of USAO.

The honorable mention list includes Marshall Bell and Jonathan Freemyer of Northwestern, Jeff Crocker of Oklahoma Christian, Matt Read, Douglas Williams, Rashad Sample and Clay Roberts of Lubbock Christian, Jon West and C.J. Henry of Southern Nazarene, John Shodipo of MACU, Rodrigo Silva, George Williams and Bobby Watkins of Wayland Baptist, Sahlih Butts of USAO, Matt Kellogg of Rogers State and Andrius Mikutis of JBU.

Making the All-Academic list are John Brown's Ryland Allen, Abel Galliguez, Thomas Galliguez and Ryan Thomas; Lubbock Christian's Tyler Kennedy, Matt Read and Clay Roberts; Northwestern's Thiago Guilherme and Jackson Kajander; Oklahoma Baptist's Dennis Tolliver; Oklahoma Christian's Crocker, Chad Endres, Izea Lovejoy and Brandon Troutman; Oklahoma City's Cesar Cuevas and Johnny Stephene; Southern Nazarene's Kyle Boen, Adrian Hunter, Milos Milosevic, Clement N'Gom and West; and Wayland Baptist: John Hemingway and Johnny Terra.