Sooner Athletic Conference
2017-18 Women's Basketball
Player of the Year Viola Beybeyah
Player of the Year Viola Beybeyah
Women's Basketball - Mon, Mar. 3, 2008

Oklahoma City University won the Sooner Athletic Conference title and the many of the top honors of the 2007-08 All-Sooner Athletic Conference Women’s Basketball Team.

Viola Beybeyah, a senior from Oklahoma City, averaged 12.4 points and 6.8 rebounds and earned Player of the Year honors. Her teammate, Zanita Johnson, claimed Defensive Player of the Year honors. Head Coach Rob Edmisson was Coach of the Year.

Freshman of the Year went to Wayland Baptist University’s Megan Coats.

Co-Newcomers of the Year were Heather Graham of Oklahoma Baptist and Yesi Castillo of USAO.

Jordan Hampton of Lubbock Christian won the Sportsmanship Award.

Beyebeyah headed up the First Team and was joined by Betsy Simmons of Oklahoma Baptist, Sierra Wilcox-Lovorn of Lubbock Christian, Kinzie Glover of Southern Nazarene, Kailan DeCamp of Oklahoma Christian and Castillo.

Graham headed the Second Team, joined by Tejana Elmore of SNU, Carolyn Manning of Lubbock Christian, Chelsea Ledbetter of OCU, Coats, Hampton and Northwestern’s D’Shanna Butler.

Yoda Woods of Rogers State led the Third Team, followed by Breezy Martin of Oklahoma City, Ashley Gamble of OBU, Ashley Taylor of John Brown, Charite Lewis of USAO, Courntey Sorrels of Mid-America Christian and Johnson of OCU.


2007-08 All-SAC Women’s Basketball

Player of the Year: Viola Beybeyah, Oklahoma City

Coach of the Year: Rob Edmisson, Oklahoma City

Freshman of the Year: Megan Coats, Wayland Baptist

Co-Newcomer of the Year: Heather Graham, Oklahoma Baptist

Co-Newcomer of the Year: Yesi Castillo, USAO

Defensive Player of the Year: Zanita Johnson, Oklahoma City

Sportsmanship Award: Jordan Hampton, Lubbock Christian

First Team

Viola Beybeyah, Oklahoma City

Betsy Simmons, Oklahoma Baptist

Sierra Wilcox-Lovorn, Lubbock Christian

Kinzie Glover, Southern Nazarene

Kailan DeCamp, Oklahoma Christian

Yesi Castillo, USAO


Second Team

Heather Graham, Oklahoma Baptist

Tejana Elmore, Southern Nazarene

Carolyn Manning, Lubbock Christian

Chelsea Ledbetter, Oklahoma City

Megan Coats, Wayland Baptist

Jordan Hampton, Lubbock Christian

D’Shanna Butler, Northwestern


Third Team

Yoda Woods, Rogers State

Breezy Martin, Oklahoma City

Ashley Gamble, Oklahoma Baptist

Ashley Taylor, John Brown

Charite Lewis, USAO

Courtney Sorrels, Mid-America Christian

Zanita Johnson, Oklahoma City


Honorable Mention

LaShelle Chandler, Southern Nazarene

Laura Duncan, Oklahoma City

Vanita Wright, Wayland Baptist

Lindsey Gipson, Oklahoma Christian

Melody Mattox, St. Gregory’s

Azzie Knox, Rogers State

Kartesha Rambo, USAO

Anastasia Okolo, Wayland Baptist

Kim Lloyd, Lubbock Christian

Romana Vynuchalova, Oklahoma City

Jennifer Jupin, Oklahoma Baptist

Ashley Jackson, Southern Nazarene

Mara Kee, Southern Nazarene

Taujhnae Travis, Oklahoma Baptist

Hayley KnifeChief, Rogers State

Shawna Patton, Mid-America Christian


Academic All-Conference

John Brown – Tracie Davis

Lubbock Christian – Jennifer Hughes, Carolyn Manning, Jordan Hampton, Sierra Wilcox-Lovorn

Mid-America Christian – Courtney Sorrels, Treasure McCoy, Miah Milton

Northwestern – Kacee McCulley, Emily Gilbert, McKenzie Malloy, Tara Baker

Oklahoma Baptist – Keely Tolin, Ashley Gamble, Heather Graham, Kristin Anderson

Oklahoma Christian – Jordan Findley, Lindsey Gipson, Charlotte Heron, Haley Myers

Oklahoma City – Romana Vynuchalova

Southern Nazarene – Mara Kee, Kinzie Glover, Rachel Balzer, LaShelle Chandler

Rogers State – Breck Muller, Tasha Parker, Hannah Owen, Erica Taylor

USAO – Sasha Ferguson